It’s Official—Americans Won’t Be Allowed Into Europe When It Reopens

Spots like Positano on Italy’s Amalfi Coast remain off limits to American travelers for the time being.

A list of the countries whose citizens will be allowed to travel to Europe starting on July 1 has been released, and it does not include the United States, the “New York Times” reported.

It’s the moment we’ve all been waiting for. And now we have to wait even longer. The European Union has revealed the list of countries whose travelers will be welcomed back to the continent on July 1, and it does not include the United States, according to a New York Times report on Friday.

The Times reported that the European Union plans to continue to bar travelers from the United States due to the fact that the country has not brought the coronavirus outbreak under control. The news comes just after the United States reported 36,880 new cases on Wednesday, a record for a single day.

As of June 26, the United States had 2.45 million confirmed coronavirus cases, more than any other country in the world, according to Johns Hopkins University. Second is Brazil, with 1.23 million confirmed cases, followed by Russia with nearly 620,000 cases. Neither Brazil nor Russia are on the EU’s list either. The United States also leads in deaths, with nearly 125,000 as of June 26.

On July 1, the European Union will open up to outside travelers for the first time since it closed its borders on March 17 as the coronavirus pandemic gripped the continent. Those restrictions were extended three times, and the latest extension left the ban in place until July 1, 2020.

The full list of approved places provided to the New York Times on Friday includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, Andorra, San Marino, Monaco, and the Vatican.

It could also include China, but only if China allows EU travelers to visit as well, EU officials told the paper. The list still needs to be formalized by the governments of each member state as well as by the European Union before taking effect on July 1, but officials reportedly said they did not expect the list to change.

The list will be updated every two weeks, which leaves open the possibility for countries to be added to or removed from it. As the Times points out, it’s not a legally binding list, but any member state that opens borders to countries not on the list could find themselves shut off from other E.U. partners.

“The E.U.’s announcement is incredibly disappointing, and a step in the wrong direction as we seek to rebuild our global economy,” U.S. Travel Association Executive Vice President for Public Affairs and Policy Tori Emerson Barnes said. “This is unwelcome news, and will have major negative implications for an economic recovery—particularly if this ban results in cycles of retaliation, as is so often the case.”

On June 15, Europe’s internal borders reopened to travelers within the continent. A ban on most travel from Europe to the United States, which was put in place on March 16, remains in effect. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said on Wednesday that the State Department has “been working with countries all across the world, including our friends in Europe and the E.U. proper, to determine how it is we can best safely reopen travel.” It doesn’t sound like that’ll be determined any time soon.